Pray the Rosary

Statue of the Virgin Mary

The Year of the Rosary
In October 2002, Pope John Paul II proclaimed the "Year of the Rosary" through October 2003. He invited Christians the world over to emphasize and promote reflection on the mysteries of the Rosary. By contemplating the life of Christ in company with the Virgin Mary, we may come to know the love of Christ.

He also proposed five new mysteries, the Luminous Mysteries, as a means of reflecting on the public life of Jesus, when he proclaims the Gospel of the Kingdom of God. Here, then, are the mysteries of the Rosary, including the Luminous Mysteries.

The Joyful Mysteries (Mondays and Saturdays)
1. The Annunciation to Mary that she is to be Mother of the Savior
2. The Visitation of Mary to her cousin Elizabeth
3. The Nativity of our Lord Jesus Christ
4. The Presentation of the Infant Jesus in the Temple
5. The Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple

The Luminous Mysteries (Thursdays)
1. Jesus' Baptism in the Jordan
2. Jesus' Self-Manifestation at the Wedding of Cana
3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom of God
4. The Transfiguration of Christ
5. The Institution of the Eucharist

The Sorrowful Mysteries (Tuesdays and Fridays)
1. The Agony of Christ in the Garden
2. The Scourging of Jesus at the Pillar
3. The Crowning with Thorns
"Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world." Jn 1:29 4. The Carrying of the Cross
5. The Crucifixion and Death of Jesus

The Glorious Mysteries (Wednesdays, Sundays)
1. The Resurrection of Jesus
2. The Ascension of Our Lord into Heaven
3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
4. The Assumption of Mary into Heaven
5. The Coronation of Our Lady in Heaven